Do You Dance With Your Shadow?

Do you dance with your shadow?
Cuz I do
When you dance with your shadow
You know it’s feeling you

When the music hits you know
You feel it in your bones
Your body starts to wiggling
And you’re stuck in a zone
But sometimes
You’re the only one around
Who can understand the sound
Of the drums and the rhythm
You see your shadow, so get wit’em

Do you dance with your shadow?
Cuz I do
When you dance with your shadow
You know it’s feeling you

Step on up real close now
Move around, even jump now
Turn around, make it bounce now
Mash it up, break it down now
Either way you go
Either fast or slow
No matter how you roll or stroll
Your shadow keeps up, it’s outta control

Do you dance with your shadow?
Cuz I do
When you dance with your shadow
You know it’s feeling you

Living in a world that’s oh so trife
Spreading yourself thin, tryna live the life
I dance with my shadow cuz it’s with me
All the time, no matter what it be
Some say it’s a lonely thing
Cuz it like I’m only dancing with me
But I like it that way
Shadow keeps up every step of the way

Do you dance with your shadow?
Cuz I do
When you dance with your shadow
You know it’s feeling you

Being a vocalist as well as a poet allows me to express myself in a variety of ways. I am truly grateful for these gifts, and at times the lines between poems and songs is gray or even transparent. Many of my poems have turned into songs and some things that were once songs are now strictly poems. But the constant in both is they emerge from my soul. So this piece is being submitted to Monday’s Poetry Potluck hosted by Jingle. The them this week is Hobbies, Pastimes, and Entertainment. One of my favorite hobbies (besides writing and singing) is dancing. So in this piece all three of my favorite pastimes meet for your entertainment.

14 thoughts on “Do You Dance With Your Shadow?

  1. YES I DO! I am feeling you!.
    The shadow dance is an earth long tradition and one that should not be forgotten… It frees the soul and brings joy. It should be done if someone is around or not. Thank you for the reminder.

  2. feels like a song. i like the rhyme within. does your shadow think you’re crazy? that is the real question…. 🙂 peace…

Leave a Reply

