You

You put a hurting on me

This I can see

A kind of hurt that’s unlikely

You open me up so deep inside

That my feelings I can not hide

Matter of fact I walk around with pride

And a smile on my face that outshines the sunshine

During my day, when you’re away

I think of all the things you say

The sound of your voice in my ear

And your breath that carries the words I hear

You excite me with just your presence

And when you leave I still feel your essence

And I thank you for this

This new kind of bliss

I felt it the first time that we kissed

It’s a feeling I’ve prayed for but always missed

 

This is my submission for Jingle’s Thursday Poets Rally Week 35. If you are a poet and would love to share your work with others in a positive environment please join the fun at- http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com

 

26 thoughts on “You

  1. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 35 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 35 (December 16-22) | Jingle

  3. sad yet powerful….

    I know lots of stuff, at times, people hurt you unintentionally, if you stay positive, things may change…

    success or bliss needs the combination of perfect time, locations, and fortune…

    lovely poem…
    Merry Christmas.

  4. I could relate to this–being so wrapped up in another–we almost forget ourselves. Can sometimes leave us way too vulnerable…

    You captured this feeling very well.

    Gayle ~

  5. What a nice Rally entry, sharing love always very touching. I’m sorry I couldn’t get back to your blog earlier, thanks for visiting my blog, comment was much appreciated!

    Wishing you a Merry Christmas!

    I want to say thank you for the support to Jingle Poetry, with you standing beside us, we are able to continue our efforts by providing the platform for poets who share and encourage…BEST wishes for the year 2011…your poetry has enlightened our community and made us smile.

    Blessings fly your way, Happy Holidays!

    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    Hope to see you on Sunday Poetry Potluck again, let me know if you have questions..old poems or poems unrelated to our theme are welcome..

    week 15 theme: reflections, interpretations, and musings.

    May you always be smiling and blessed!

  6. I think although there is a lot being said here, there’s a lot of telling and not much showing- I agree that the juxtaposition of pain and pride are interesting, but this could be strengthened with greater use of imagery. It takes a lot to be able to share poetry with others, so I commend you and say, keep writing!

  7. Interesting use of “hurt”. Growing pains are like that. True relationships make us grow in ways we don’t often know. The joy of growing and knowing outweighs the strain and struggle involved with our growth. As we grow together, that we gain is greater than anything we lost.
    I really like this one. I’m feeling you.

  8. Pingback: The Celebrate Poet of 2010 Awards Nomination Announcement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  9. Pingback: Outstanding Poetry From Outstanding Poets | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

Leave a Reply

