No Stepping Out Tonight

No stepping out tonight

I’ve got my mind right

And my goals in sight

So, no stepping out tonight

I won’t be shaking my thing

To the sound of the swing

I won’t be popping bottles

Dressing up like a top model

Won’t be no count down from 10

I probably won’t even see 2011 come in

I’ll be safe at home under my sheets

Not gallivanting in the streets

Cuz at 1 month shy of 29

Seems like all that partying was a waste of time

Energy, money and effort

I don’t pride myself on being a club expert

I wanna be a connoisseur of my soul

I wanna work towards being whole

And celebrating amongst the masses

Allows for too many chances

For me to slip off my course

Keeping in mind I’m headed for the source

Of all things created

So I’m staying focused, unabated

Keeping my mind right and free of

Any distraction, remembering my Nia

As in my purpose, my resolve, my aim

I vow not to be the same

I vow to make a change

So New Year’s Eve I’m making an exchange

My discipline for my transcendence

Giving me a new kind of independence

So no stepping out tonight

I’ve got my mind right

And my goals in sight

Ain’t no stepping out tonight

24 thoughts on “No Stepping Out Tonight

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 36 (December 29, 2010-January 5, 2011) | Jingle

  2. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 36 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  3. So no stepping out tonight

    I’ve got my mind right

    And my goals in sight

    Ain’t no stepping out tonight..

    perfect rhymes, love the sentiments expressed in ..
    happy 2011.
    keep up the excellence.
    🙂

  4. Amazing and fantastic work…

    “Giving me a new kind of independence
    So no stepping out tonight
    I’ve got my mind right
    And my goals in sight
    Ain’t no stepping out tonight”

    Loved it 🙂

  5. so I’m reading this not realizing I’m on your sight thinking awe ish this person sounds like Milk!!! then I scroll up and low and behold I clearly know your soul, sound, mind and rhythm! I love this piece! awesome awesome!!!

    1 mind fruitful new year awesome new beginnings already ready to start working on my “resolve” for changing after fat tuesday! self contract in progress!

  6. I love this piece, a beautiful summation of the inner
    strength of someone who does not want to take the easy path of
    delusion in life…I absolutely love the way you closed it, very
    elegant. Keep on striving for truth, for transcendence, for the
    striving is the only cure for entropy of being. Thanks for sharing
    this very intimate and beautiful poem.

  7. Pingback: Soaring Talents in Poetry Rally Week 36: You Got 2 check Them Out! | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

Leave a Reply

