My Experience

I’m not no rock-n-roll fan
But I groove to the sounds of a Band
Of Gypsy — Eyes
Their melodic theories hypnotize
Me, hip me
To the game of a sound change
Elevating to a Purple Haze, You Got Me Floating
Above the sound of the Crosstown Traffic
And all the havoc
Of Machine Gun, Flashing and Fire
Lifting me to FreedomAnd You
You just a Highway Chile
Running wild
A Wild Thing
Suffering from Manic Depression
Can’t tell if it’s Love or Confusion
Cuz you get lost in the illusion
Of drugs, sex, and rock-n-roll
Building Castles Made of Sand
Trying to grasp control
And me
I’m using you as a Stepping Stone
Can You See Me in my Red House
Deep in the Valleys of Neptune
Look Up from the Skies
Still I rise, like an Angel
Or maybe a Voodoo Chile
Knowing with the Power of Love
Anything is possible
So I take a Rainy Day, Dream Away
Moving Bold as Love
Listening as The Wind Cries Mary
And making One Rainy Wish
Moon, Turn the Tides…Gently Gently Away
I Don’t Live Today
I live forever
And my experience is greater than ever
Cuz I’m not no rock-n-roll fan
But when I put on My Friend
Jimi
Hendrix
I get my fix
So I ask you this
Are You Experienced?

 

6 thoughts on “My Experience

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I grew up on Jimi Hendrix and got inspired listening to him yesterday. I feel the same way about Bob Marley, working on a similar piece with his songs 🙂

  1. Thank you everyone! I started off writing a poem about Bob Marley, Jimi Hendrix and John Coltrane. Starting off with Jimi just launched this, and it’s in the same format as Born in Sound. So hopefully one day a Bob Marley poem will come forth as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

