Prioritize

I’ve completed 5 days of Coltrane Immergence and I think I may need more than a week 🙂 These last 5 days have been so wonderful that I just want to continue on. I have listened to so much Coltrane that even in silence I can hear saxophones. I picked up albums that I haven’t listened to in years and it’s been “music to my ears” I love the variety of live footage available on YouTube, and the access it grants me to Coltrane albums that I don’t own. I feel truly blessed to be living in this time, where all the Trane I want is right at my fingertips. Thank you God!

Once again I have been blessed with an A Love Supreme inspired poem. Continuing on with the lyrics to the Psalm, I offer up this piece.

“No matter what/ It is God/ He is gracious and merciful/ It is most important that I know Thee” -John Coltrane, Psalm – A Love Supreme

 

Get your priorities in order
Go kneel at the altar
Be a vessel so you can offer
Up, your best self
Knowing God is good for your health
You may think that family is first
And it’s easy to be fully immersed
But it is most important to know God
Not living this facade
You may focus on health being wealth
Or on food, clothes and shelter
But knowing God is the greatest gesture
His love is beyond measure
And knowing Him gives so much pleasure
So much peace
So much love
His grace is bountiful
His mercy is endless
No matter what
Knowing God is priceless
Focusing on the day to day
Or how you much you get paid
Will not get your soul saved
The life we live on this planet
Ends when we reach the casket
But our everlasting soul lives on
Knowing God is what matters in the long run
Making friends, gaining wealth and having fun
Matters not
So don’t focus on what you have got
Instead focus on what’s inside
Open yourself to God
Don’t hide
Don’t dodge
Don’t run from the truth
Seek God in your youth
Sit still, in peace
Stand firm in your belief
Because God is
Make your life His

 

2 thoughts on “Prioritize

  1. I’m loving this part
    “So don’t focus on what you have got
    Instead focus on what’s inside
    Open yourself to God
    Don’t hide
    Don’t dodge
    Don’t run from the truth
    Seek God in your youth
    Sit still, in peace
    Stand firm in your belief”

    So much truth in that!!! Praise God!

Leave a Reply

