This Feeling

In honor of Valentine’s Day I want to pull out this old piece from 2003. It talks about that new love and the feeling of being in TRUE love. I hope you enjoy!

 

It’s this feeling that I get
When you’re not around
That let’s me know just
What I’ve found
Because when I look at
All the men in the world
I’m so glad that
I am your girl
It’s this feeling
No other gives me
The joy that you do
That’s why I ‘m glad
That God sent you
To me
For me to keep
To much time apart
Make me weep
The addiction that I feel
Is just so strong
I can feel my body
Going through withdrawals
And then I call you up
To get a dose
It’s satisfied with your
Scent in my nose
Or the sound of your voice
Over the phone
It helps me to
Go on
It’s this feeling that I get
When you’re not around
That let’s me know just
What I’ve found
It’s this feeling
It’s this feeling that keep me
From doing my work
Got me daydreaming
About the way that you  twerk
I get lost in thought
Every 18 minutes
And it makes me wonder
What I did to deserve this
Wonderful
That’s what it is
It’s a marvelous thing
That I’ve always wished
It’s this feeling
Yeah
When I lay with you
Our hearts do touch
And when you’re gone
I miss you much
You make me happy
When my days are sad
Even when you’re the one
That made me mad
You give me fuel
For my pen
Baby, you’re so inspiring
It’s this feeling the I get
When you’re not around
That let’s me know just
What I’ve found
It’s this feeling
I never felt like a real woman
I never knew real affection from a real man
I never knew the joy of a simple touch
I never knew a feeling beyond lust
I never knew there was a spot that could make me cry
I never knew there could be only one for my eye
I never knew I could be in a foreign land
And think of nothing but my man
I never knew this feeling
It’s this feeling that makes me write
For hours on end
It’s this feeling that makes me
Brag to all my friends
It’s this feeling that lets me know
That falling for you has me in trouble
It’s this feeling that makes me want no other
It’s this feeling that makes me a glad lover
It’s this feeling

 

This poem has been entered into Jingle’s Poetry Potluck Week 22 Theme: Love, Bonds and Relationships.

14 thoughts on “This Feeling

  1. With there being so many fabulous parts I had to pick just one and so I picked this one…because it’s in the beginning and it sets the tone for the rest of the poem allowing [me] your reader to totally be able to connect and feel the love you’re talking about…love it!!! in all 3 forms I’ve seen/heard/read LOL 1 mind!

    “…It’s this feeling
    No other gives me
    The joy that you do
    That’s why I ‘m glad
    That God sent you
    To me…”

  2. simply beautifull./.
    you have expressed that feeling really well..
    loved these lines esp —
    //It’s this feeling
    I never felt like a real woman
    I never knew real affection from a real man
    I never knew the joy of a simple touch//

  3. how are you?

    you win the perfect poet award of week 39, please visit me to claim it.

    submit a free verse to poets rally week 39 if you can, we miss your absence.
    Cheers.

    keep it up.
    Smiles.
    love you.

Leave a Reply

