Like My Mama



Like My Mama

 

I wanna a be a mama like my mama

I wanna be strong and grounded in my faith

Every striving to be my best self

I wanna be a mama like my mama

Strict, with high expectations

And the greatest love you can ever feel

I wanna be a mama like my mama

Movie hopping on the weekends just for fun

Drive-ins and shopping sprees

I wanna be a mama like my mama

Guiding not deciding how you grow

Teaching lessons and valuing education

I wanna be a mama like my mama

Proud, wise, strong, smart and brave

Gentle and kind and in touch with the Divine

I wanna be a mama like my mama

Resilient in struggle and overcoming all obstacles

Steadfast and secure leaning on the Lord

I wanna be a mama

Like my mama

 

 

This poem was inspired by the theme for Jingle Poetry Potluck- Idols, Role Models and Mentors. I’ve already shared some pieces on my idol St. John Coltrane, but I hadn’t shared anything about my role model as a mother. This Potluck offered me the opportunity, thanks 🙂

13 thoughts on “Like My Mama

  1. have fun, support by visiting a dozen entries starting from the latest one, go backwards, 226, 225, 224, ….214..

    your input is appreciated.

  2. I NOMINATE YOU FOR
    The Versatile Blogger Award
    I am honored but I feel you are more deserving than I based on the way you paint
    with words and write with hues of color.

Leave a Reply

