Raw Nourishment

“Man seeks to change the foods available in nature to suit his tastes, thereby putting an end to the very essence of life contained in them.”
-Sai Baba
 
 
As I continue on my journey this Lenten season I move into another phase of my commitment, 100% raw diet! This is a very exciting practice for me. Being vegetarian Since the Womb, going raw is helping me to gain a deeper appreciation for a plant based diet. I am able to see the complexities in flavor and texture and the many possibilites to conjure up familiar connections. Because connecting is so important in eating. I think that’s why this raw food is so interesting to me. It’s a new way of connecting with my nourishment. Going out to the farmer’s markets and health food stores, picking the freshest, most vibrant fruits and vegetables. Bringing them home and taking the time to wash and prepare them with love. Keeping the food alive and raw brings a different kind of energy into your body. It is a fresh and energizing vibration, and I am truly enjoying it.

The one challenge  I see myself facing is keeping up with the meal planning and preparation. I can see that proper planning is needed to maintain this type of regimen. The first 2 days of going raw I stuck with smoothies, salads, and whole fruits and vegetables. But as I moved into the busy week, I wanted to try and have similar meals as the rest of my family, so I have taken up the challenge of making raw meals and  not just whole raw plants. This proved to be a success on my first try! So I will share with you my first raw meal!

My family’s vegetarian dinner: Garlic Parmesan Mashed Potatoes, Sauteed Kale, and a Quorn Cheese Burger

My raw version: Garlic Mashed Cauliflower, Kale Salad, and a Pesto Portobello

 

The internet had been most helpful is guiding me in techniques and recipes to try for this raw regimen. I searched through several recipes for raw mashed potatoes and all of them used cashews, cauliflower, and olive oil. So I went for it. Here’s the recipe I ended up with:

Ingredients:
1 cup cashews
celtic salt (to taste)
black pepper (to taste)
1 small head of cauliflower (chopped)
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1/2 tbsp miso
1 clove garlic (crushed)
2-3 tbsp nutritional yeast
1/4 cup water
1-2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
 
1. Grind cashes, salt and pepper in food processor until powdery 
2. Add cauliflower, lemon, miso, garlic and nutritional yeast and blend. Slowly add in water as needed to assist with blending. 
3. Scrape side of bowl often to ensure all ingredients are combining. 
4. Slowly drizzle in EVOO to give the mixture a creamy texture
5. Stop blending when mixture is smooth, light and fluffy. 
 
These garlic “mashed potatoes” are great! You can eat it like this and it’s marvelous or you can use it like a hummus and dip your favorite vegetable or cracker in it for a powerful flavor and and thick and creamy texture!
 

Kale salad is something I have heard of but never tried. I am usually a fan of my kale sauteed  or used as a wrap. But this kale salad was amazing and it stands up really well to dressing. I didn’t do any special shopping for this salad I just used what i had around:

Ingredients:
5 kale leaves (chopped)
1/4 red onion (sliced)
1/4 red bell pepper (sliced)
10 cherry tomatos 
3 springs parsley (chopped)
1 small avocado (chopped) 
1 stalk celery
pinch of celtic salt
black pepper (to taste)
pinch of cayenne pepper
juice of 1/2 lemon
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
 
Place all the ingredients in a bowl and mix well, massaging the kale to tenderize. 
 
This salad was fresh and hearty. I can’t wait to try different variations!
 
 

 

The Pesto Portobello recipe I derived from the Food Matters Detox and Rejuvenation Guide. I changed it up a bit because I am still getting used to using nuts in my meals.

Ingredients:
4 portobello mushrooms
1/2 cup pine nuts
2 bunches of basil (about 2 cups)
1/2 cup olive oil
2 cloves fo garlic (chopped)
1 tsp celtic salt
juice of 1 lemon
 
1. Wash and remove the stem from the mushrooms and lay out on a serving dish
2. Place all remaining ingredients in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth.
3. Fill the mushrooms with pesto and serve fresh. 
 
These were soooo good! And they flavors went great with the garlic mashed cauliflower. It felt like a fresh version of my family’s meal. 
 
 
 

Now, I know this is a lot of prep and blending and ingredients to use just for one meal, but I suggest replacing one of your cooked items with a raw version or substitute at each meal. This way you can get more LIVE food with all the vital nutrients.

3 thoughts on “Raw Nourishment

  1. Excellent ideas! You sound so much like my daughter Laura who is a certified holistic nutritionist (and Zumba instructor). She’s a master of making super-healthy smoothies and loves to create original recipes (gluten free of course). I would invite you to visit her website at http://www.gotohealth.ca
    Here’s to a healthy lifestyle…good luck to you!
    Terry Stokoe
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Canada

  2. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!!!! You make it seem like it’s an easy choice that we can all incorporate into our lives, one substitute at a time, but make it clear that it’s not always easy all the time. Thanks for sharing photos AND the recipes!!! I’d love to try these out some time!!!!! Happy Eating!

  3. Pingback: Raw Nourishment http mysticmarleei wordpress com 2012 03… « mrfuzzybear.com

Leave a Reply

