Reflections

A quick poem written February 25, 2005 but even more relevant today

When I look in the mirror

I see a reflection of many struggles

Those fought by many soldiers

Who strived for something better

Something that started as only a hope or a dream

A thought

To realize it one would never have seen

Each part and each section

Was fundamental to the rest

And each one had to face it’s individual test

But where does this reflection that I see fit into the puzzle

Must I speak up before my words are muzzled?

And confined

Locked up

Looking through bars it’s behind

Or do I sit back and reflect

Leaving others in neglect?

Stand up for justice #BlackLivesMatter

One thought on “Reflections

Leave a Reply

