Look At Me

When you look at me
What do you see?
An earthy brown complexion
Hair that inspires questions
Lips: full, round and wide
Nose: full, round and wide
Eyes deep, dark with pride
When you look at me do you see
Black
Brown
African American
Colored
Negro
Nigger
When you see me
Does it make you wanna pull the trigger
Does my presence inspire fear
Does it cause you to sneer
When you look at me
I want you to see
The face of History
I want you to see the African in me
Why not call me what I am
African in America
Now don’t get me wrong
Black is beautiful
Black is strong
Black is origin
But Africa is where Black began
So when you look at me
See 54 countries
See the oldest recorded history
See 11.7 million square miles
See every shade of man, woman, and child
See the first of the first
See the caretakers of the Earth
See balance of nature, spirit, and flesh
See the origin of man
Humanity at its best
See me now
And remember me then
See me now
And remember where I’ve been
And what I been through
Look at me and see Black unity
For I am a walking protest
The very inhabitation of this black skin
Is a protest that never ends
And when I dot my face
You can’t erase
The connection to my origin
Where my story began
And where it shall return again

4 thoughts on “Look At Me

  1. Marlee, your poetry is BEAUTIFUL!  It touched me; made me feel your longing for sacred grounding.  I hope the future you seek is attainable for you and your family.  Much, much love, Judy

    From: Mystic Mountain To: jfbalassi@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, July 26, 2016 10:47 AM Subject: [New post] Look At Me #yiv7453955856 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7453955856 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7453955856 a.yiv7453955856primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7453955856 a.yiv7453955856primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7453955856 a.yiv7453955856primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7453955856 a.yiv7453955856primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7453955856 WordPress.com | Marlee-I Mystic posted: “When you look at meWhat do you see?An earthy brown complexionHair that inspires questionsLips: full, round and wideNose: full, round and wideEyes deep, dark with prideWhen you look at me do you seeBlackBrownAfrican AmericanColoredNegroNigger” | |

    • Thank you for your kind words Judy. I have been wanting to write something since killing of #AltonSterling and I was finally able to get it out. It feels good and it has helped bring some healing.

  2. Pingback: Entry 2. Unite our voices | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

