I #PaintPEACE

15000039_10157627685345109_4901423218551861028_o

 

4 months of #ConnectingTheDots
I’ve had so many interactions and conversations about culture and equality and micro acts of justice. I am thankful for all the encouragement, acknowledgement, and positive responses. Some people tell me they don’t even see the protest, the just see the beauty. Others say it’s a powerful protest to see you walking into every space with that statement on your face. Others say don’t you think you should give it a break? Some say justice will never come so I better be ready to wear this #WarPaint to the grave. They got so much things to say… But regardless of the positive or negative feedback #ImAWalkingProtest and no its not easy. You are looking at a woman who before July 7th would only wear makeup for special occasions, and that meant some eyeshadow and some lipstick. But this #WarPaint4Change is a serious commitment, and I’m fully committed. It’s not about being cute (although I think it’s beautiful) it’s about stirring up the world. It’s about getting people to think about more than what’s on the surface. It’s about connecting myself and you to the roots of this struggle. It’s about changing presumptions and reaching understanding. It’s about being authentic. It’s about #BlackLivesMatter #BlackUNITY #JusticeOrElse
It’s about #Love and #Empowerment for my people and for myself.
And I pray that other women, men, and children will embrace their traditions and bring them to their everyday. Not just special occasions or events. But everyday stage a #PersonalProtest

2 thoughts on “I #PaintPEACE

Leave a Reply

