Melanin Heavy

If I could take account

For every time you made to shout

Scream, cry, sob, and yell

I still couldn’t tell

The burden I carry

Being melanin heavy

This brown skin

Exuding black pride

Is just why the vision of me

Makes your spirit hide

And your white supremacy shine

And your hate of my race

Is a sin you can’t escape

Because if I could take account

For every time you made me shout

Scream, cry, sob, and yell

I still couldn’t tell

The burden I carry

Being melanin heavy

From the first entry in my land

We lent a haleping hand

Teaching you the ways of time and space

Agriculture to Zoology

You we embraced

But your spirit dimmed

And pride grew

And little understanding came from you

So now you got half the story

And all the weapons

An infant in need of a lesson

A child in this cosmic life

Who has done childish things

That brings grief to my heart

When I stop and think

That you really, truly believe

That your finite time on Mother Earth

The place of this birth

Is meant to be spent

Paying rent

Manifesting your destiny

Through money, oppression, and destruction

Raping the continent of it’s people and it’s resources

To waste

And the only trace

You leave is your giant carbon footprint

I want to be more

I want to be more than a carbon footprint when I die

I want to do more than say I tried

I want to excel and succeed

I want to give the people what they need

I want to be more than a carbon footprint

That lead to the Earth’s demise

I want to be one of the wise

Leave a comment